When in doubt, eggs are your way out!

I just realized it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything culinary on here although I’ve been plenty busy cooking up a storm and living on Pinterest. Last night however I needed a break and figured something quick and easy would have to do. Whenever I think easy, I go back to my childhood (and now adulthood) favorite – eggs. You can wake me up out of deep sleep at 3 AM and feed me a plate of eggs and I will gladly oblige. That being said, my fridge may not have a tomato but it will for sure have at least 6 eggs.

So I set about to make one of my favorite egg curry recipes. Now this isn’t one I grew up eating, but thanks to the zillion food blogs I haunt during my free time, I found and tweaked this one where it has just the right flavor profile. This has been a go to for a while now.

Ingredients:

  • 6 boiled eggs
  • 1 15-oz can of coconut milk. (do not get the fat free or any other kind)
  • 4-5 green chilies, slit vertically
  • 1/2 cup finely minced onion
  • 1/2 cup tomato
  • 4-5 sprigs of cilantro
  • 2 tbsp of ginger garlic paste
  • 3-4 peppercorns
  • 1″ cinnamon
  • 1/2 tea spn poppy seeds
  • 1/4 tea spn cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tea spn chili powder
  • 1/2 tea spn coriander powder
  • Turmeric
  • 1 tea spn kasoori methi
  • Oil
  • Salt

Method: 

  • Grind green chilies, cloves, cinnamon, peppercorns, poppy seeds, cilantro with a little water. Add it to the coconut milk.
  • Heat oil and add cumin seeds. Add onion and fry till onions turn brownish. Add coconut milk with the ground masala and ginger garlic paste. Fry for 5-6 mins or until the raw smell dissipates.
  • Add chili powder, coriander powder, turmeric and fry for few more minutes.
  • Add tomatoes, salt and cook some more (salt helps in cooking tomatoes faster). Add little water to bring it to a thick gravy consistency.
  • Cut the boiled eggs lengthwise. When the curry starts to boil, slide the eggs in slowly. Add kasoori methi. Cook for few more minutes.
  • Serve hot with steamed rice or parathas.
Leave a Reply

