Mixed berry crumble. Ooh la la!

So these last few weeks, I’ve been going through a culinary journey. Work has been crazy and the crazy brings out the foodie in me. In other words, stressed spelled backwards is desserts except I don’t stop just at that. I’ve been cooking fancy dinners (thanks to a food service which warrants, I’ve just realized a whole post of its own) and blogging while not forgotten has had to take a backseat so I can pursue my other passion – cooking!

That being said, I’m stressed just enough to start thinking desserts. 🙂 And what better than the household favorite, especially in the summer months – Mixed berry crumble. Berries are aplenty and crumble is easy to make. Now my baking skills are nominal at best so I stick with easy-to-make recipes and this one is, so worth sharing. I’ve made it a couple times now, so it’s down to a science. Figured I would share it here so anyone that chances upon it is also in for a treat.

This creates single serve portions as opposed to making one large dish so any leftovers can easily be heated and had the next day. Here goes.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup oats (not the quick cooking or steel cut kind)
  • 6 tbsp butter, cut into chunks
  • 4 cups mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (for berries)
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 6 ramekins
  • A tub of vanilla ice-cream. Anything that’s left over is fair game for a chocolate sundae!

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 deg F.
  • In a bowl combine the flour, brown sugar, 1/4 cup sugar, cinnamon, salt and oats. Using a pastry blender, a fork or hands cut in butter. I actually heated the butter in the microwave for 15 seconds to soften it before adding it to the mix above.
  • In another bowl combine the berries, 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch and toss to coat. Evenly divide the fruit mixture between the 6 ramekins.
  • Top with crumble topping. Bake until top is golden and fruit is bubbly, about 35 minutes.
  • Serve warm topped with a generous dollop or two of vanilla ice-cream.

This has been a hit at dinners and it came out so good, I had to do a repeat just for home. I only have blueberries and strawberries today. Not mixed berry enough. The plan is to pick up some blackberries after work tomorrow so I can do this some justice.

I also really need to work on updating the theme for my blog so I can post more pictures. Can’t wait for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

