Have passport, will travel

TRAVEL. A 6-letter word that brings a smile to my lips. I think I was born to be a nomad. Yes, I still have roots back in India where I was raised and where my parents live. I have roots here in the US where I am now. But every so often, I start to wonder if I was ever meant to have roots? Maybe I’m one of those whose soul craves new worlds, new experiences, new people and an ever changing scenery. I’m not a backpacker mind you, but I believe I could easily move to a new city or even a new country and call it home for a few years, until it is time to move again. I am a restless soul.

Restless is an odd word to describe me because usually I’m anything but. I’ve only lived in 2 continents and 4 cities so far. I must say though that I have had the good fortune of traveling for pleasure and the more I do it, the more I realize, this is how it was meant to be for me. What then makes it hard to achieve? Well for starters, I’m not rich. πŸ™‚ So I need to work and earn a decent pay to be able to travel and enjoy the benefits of living somewhere. It also needs to be a job that will challenge me and something I can sustain for a few years. Then there are my dogs – German Shepherds at that and no way I am leaving them behind to pursue this dream! So now I’m a nomad with serious limitations hah, which is why in lieu of being a legit nomad, I’ve decided to stay put and stay employed for the time being and instead use my paid-time-off days to travel to all these places I dream of living in.

I often wonder what brought on my intense need to see the world. My parents didn’t own a passport until 6 years ago when they finally decided to travel while they could still enjoy it and also use it as an opportunity to come visit me here in the US. We didn’t travel much except locally all through my childhood. Who had the means to do that back then! Then again, I’ve been an avid reader ever since I was little and all these books along with my vivid imagination probably opened my mind to the possibility of travel – a need to see how other parts of this planet look like, how people choose to live, what their day-to-day lives look like. The first time I watched “Eat, Pray, Love”, I fell in love. While I am lacking in the “pray” department (I’m not exactly religious in the traditional sense), the other aspects of the movie coupled with the the places the main character, Elizabeth Gilbert visited and the friends she made on her way around, had me jumping for joy. I watched that movie over and over, all the time living vicariously through her, enjoying the sights, sounds and the varied cuisine through my 27″ television screen. Yes, this is definitely my calling!

I got my very first passport at age 23 and that too because my then job had prospects for an international assignment and having a passport meant you moved up in the line of shortlisted candidates. Check! Now that I have the license to travel though, the only thing slowing me down is the fact that some of these destinations need visas. THAT is an easy enough task to tackle. For now, on my bucket list are Spain, Ireland, Amsterdam, Iceland, France, Argentina, Chile, Brazil and many many many more places. Miles to go before I sleep and I’ll sleep when I’m dead! πŸ™‚

As if this list wasn’t enough, in the last few months, I’ve caught the yoga bug. The peace, mindfulness and meditative outlet it provides far exceeds any I’ve felt before. So to my travel bucket list got added another item – a yoga retreat. I also love to juice and here is where I’d like to give a shout out to Jason Vale (no I am not working for a commission), whose juices have transformed my life. He owns and operates a juice retreat in Portugal that I would love to visit one day. It’s going to need some strategic planning to nail all the places on my list and the new ones that get added from talking to others that have the same travel affliction as me.

OK, I’ve rambled on quite some and just talking about it has made me want to pack a bag and head out! πŸ™‚ I bet I’m not the only one bitten by the travel bug here. I’d love to hear some of your stories, dear readers. Where all have you been? Maybe you’re in a country that I could add to my list? Talk to me!

 

Leave a Reply

