Having faith

Life often tests you in ways you don’t expect. In other words, just when you think things are going your way, life throws you a curve ball, just to let you know who holds the reins. What we need to remember and constantly remind ourselves in times like these is that nothing is permanent in life. The ebb and flow of events is what allows us to appreciate the good times and be humble during the bad ones.

No, I’m not feeling philosophical. Not anymore than usual at least. šŸ™‚ Just that today was one of the days where I was trying to think of what I was thankful for. 2016 has been a trying year for me on a health, personal and professional front. Every time I surfaced to catch my breath, something sucked me down. Through this whole process, what helped me survive, helped me look forward to the next sunrise was faith. Faith that tomorrow will bring a new day, possibly a change in my favor, opportunities to do something better, something different. Something that restore my faith in “faith”. As usual life did not disappoint me.

Today, on July 19th, as I look back, I’d like to thank every one that was there for me when I needed someone to lean on (you know who you are), needed a helping hand or that boost to help me put one foot ahead of the other. Today I have a job I enjoy, knowledge of who my true friends are and people that I know I can rely on and know they will be there for me no matter what.

Life only gives you as much as you can handle and never more. How you handle it, how you emerge from it and what you become once you’ve been through it is what helps each of us grow. I’ve slowly begun to grow too and now instead of asking “Why me?”, I instead say “God, I don’t ask you to make my life easier, but give me strength to face all you send my way.”

One thought on “Having faith

Leave a Reply

