So much for planning

What do they say about the best laid plans 🙂

Remember I had mentioned about having friends over for dinner and had outlined my menu. This is part 2 of that story. I found out one of our friends has had surgery , so the meal needed to be light enough that he could enjoy yet not so light that it would border on blah. Hmm, that eliminates israeli couscous and too much roughage. Time to look for easily digestible items.

The chicken can stay so I pick up some skinless bone-in chicken thighs since whole legs were nowhere to be found, and head to the farmers’ market. Just as I walk in, I chance upon these cute baby zucchinis and a head of cauliflower so pretty it would put a rose to shame! OK maybe not that beautiful but it looked so fresh, I had to get it. Salad would have to be something simpler. Maybe a cucumber salad since it is so good for you and cooling in summer. Next up – dessert. The original plan was to make ice-pops or fruit skewers. One of our friends said she was going to bring watermelon and macadamia nut cookies. That meant I needed to improvise my dessert menu. It’s summer and berries are in abundance. I’m thinking a mixed berry crumble. It will have to be hot instead of the cold dessert I was planning on, but a scoop of vanilla ice-cream should fix that. We had the most awesome mixed berry crumble at this restaurant we went to last month and I’ve been dying to try it out at home. Today is the day! I buy a couple of little baskets of strawberries and blueberries. Blackberries are curiously absent. Oh well, I have a couple of peaches at home that have to be consumed, so maybe I add those in and make this a fruit crumble. 🙂

Armed with my treasures, I head home a smile on my lips. I so love cooking. Here now is the new menu –

  • Mint, garlic and yogurt marinated bone-in chicken thighs. I think bone-in imparts more flavor than boneless, so I adamantly continue to opt for bone-ins and call out a quick disclaimer before guests bite into it.
  • Cauliflower florets coated in olive oil and seasoned with sea salt and red pepper flakes.
  • Baked garlic parmesan zucchini sticks
  • Cucumber, cilantro and yogurt salad
  • Fruit crumble with vanilla ice-cream made in ramekins for individual serve

I must say I was mighty pleased to find hardly any leftovers. I now have 2 thighs left, a tiny bit of cucumber salad and 1 crumble. So much for thinking lunch today will be a breeze. LOL.

Everyone was sated and I almost offered them coffee so they could drive home awake. All in all it was a great time with some great friends! Oh and the crumble recipe is going into my book of successful tries for a repeat!

 

Leave a Reply

