I’m so grateful

I started this journey on May 24th, 2016. My mission was simple. Use this blog as a medium to “think aloud online and find solace in words”. A source of some much needed therapy. 20 days in, my blog notifications includes a note – “You’ve made 20 posts on A Penny for my Thoughts.“. 20 days, 20 blogs. I had no idea where I was headed when I started down this path, but as I published my very first introductory blog, an idea took hold of me. Maybe I try a blog-a-day format and see where it takes me. God knows I have plenty to write about. 🙂

Today, as I read through my blogs, I realize I’ve come a long way. Yes they are wayward, a little too revealing at times, or sometimes just observations, but they portray my sentiment of the day. This morning, I read a blog post from a wonderful fellow blogger, Michael Ryan. You can find his blog HERE. He wrote about how we need to express ourselves freely without the fear of ridicule. I’m going to quote him because this one sentence stuck out – “even if no one ever hears what you have to say, your something can still impact you.” How true this is. How apprehensive I was when I first started writing, wondering what people would think of me, of my musings. Will they judge me? Be harsh in their feedback? Then I told myself, this was for me first. There is a lot of good in this world and it will find you.

20 days later, I must say I have experienced nothing but amazing support from immediate family, cousins, friends and my new-found online well-wishers and allies. What started out as just mine, is now being shared with several others, just as they share theirs with me. I’m so grateful and humbled to be a part of this online community and immensely indebted to the person who recognized my need to write and encouraged me to take that next step. I plan to continue writing and reading and enjoying this experience for a very long time!

This moment today, I figured I needed to take pause and appreciate each and every one of you who has been there for me and with me during this journey. Thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart!

3 thoughts on “I’m so grateful

Leave a Reply

