Drinking the kool aid

OK so I grew up on Spiderman, Batman, Star Trek and I’m even going to throw in the Alien movies with Sigourney Weaver. I’ve watched these several times so I thought I was fairly well-versed in the art of sci-fi, science fantasy and intergalactic drama. But then I find out I’m barely scratching the surface…and why? because I have yet to watch Star Wars!! The lure of Star Wars seems to have evaded me. Then again, I’m probably the only person on the surface of this planet in my age group that has yet to watch it (and yes, kids in single digit ages have watched it a bazillion times already). 

My knowledge is limited to the sound Chewbacca makes, and the fact that there is a Yoda, a Darth Vader and a Wookie in there. OK I admit, I’m a total Star Wars failure. Go ahead, heckle me! So far I’ve been able to navigate around this general lack of knowledge with my Dark Knight and Spiderman prowess but put me in a room with a Star Wars nerd and I walk away feeling like the village idiot. Time to take matters into my own hands. So much for not bending to peer pressure.

My dilemma however is that they’ve made so many of these, I need to watch the “real” trilogy to make sure I fully comprehend it. There are so many personal opinions around which one is the best, I’d hate to spend all that time watching only to offend a groupie because of my miscalculated choice. When in doubt….Google. That mantra has come handy time after time! So I do. I find this entire article (dubiously declared “objective view”) on Forbes that proclaims the best order to watch so as to maximize the impact of the plot whilst minimizing spoilers. Ummhmm, I read it start to finish. I have no clue what the hell the writer is talking about. 🙂 I’m going to have to swallow my pride and ask a nerd. Well first I need to find a nerd who won’t gouge his/her eyes out when I tell them I have yet to watch ANY Star Wars episodes.

I have someone in mind but they are going to be amused, very tickled but hopefully delighted that I am getting on the bandwagon at last. OMG what I am I signing up for?! Next I’ll be buying shirts with Star Wars characters on it and quoting Yoda. Oh wait, I’ve done the Yoda quote already in one of my past blogs. That kind of sealed my fate, didn’t it? I think it was my subconscious telling me it was time to just do it. It is time to succumb to the pressure and drink the kool aid. If you see a blog in the future from me on this very topic, you can safely assume I was consumed by the epidemic sweeping the world. May I say siiiighhh!

Leave a Reply

