Saturday musings

I do so love weekends. I was in an odd funk last night especially after writing the blog so am I glad I woke up on the right side of the bed this morning. Nothing like carrying it into the next day and ruining a perfect weekend. Today’s Saturday and a hot one at that. It was a whopping 94 deg F couple hours ago. All plans for outdoor activities went out the window….fast. 🙂

Woke up this morning with the intent to go on a 8 mile hike around this loop someone recommended at a nearby nature trail. Nature is my therapy…so yes, count me in. I let the dogs out and boy, at 7:30 AM it is already hot and humid. I check the weather and it says it’s 79 already….expected to climb to 85 by 10 AM and 94 soon after. OK, no chance the dogs are going to make that hike. They’ll be passed out at mile 3 and I won’t be too far behind. So hike is not happening. Hmm how else do I burn the daylight. Time to tackle some chores around the house that have been ignored or forgotten. Nothing like getting stuff done while the AC blows cold air on you!

First order of the day – tea and breakfast. No chores can be done on an empty stomach! Next up, a run to Home Depot (for non-Americans, that the warehouse-style store that sells everything from hammers to lumber to bathroom fixtures). All I need is light bulbs, hardwood stain to restore some scuff marks on the floor and paint to re-do the guest bedroom. Check, check and check. Pick up some M&Ms on the way out (there is a master conspiracy going on where they place all my favorite chocolates and candy by the checkout counter!) and head home. Needless to say, the M&Ms didn’t make it home…LOL.

5 hours later, the wood floor is sanded and ready to be stained, the guest bedroom has a new coat of paint (the color was named Little lamb….aww) and the bulbs have been replaced. I’m bone tired and have more paint on me than on the wall. After struggling with the decision of a bath vs a shower, I decide I don’t have the patience to wait for the tub to fill up. Shower it is. The plan is to go to Trivia Night tonight….so I’m going to be super late coming home which means less time to write the blog. Soooo, I figured now would be a good time to get this done. Not going to break my blog-a-day trend over trivia. Armed with a glass of chilled coconut water, I now lay splayed on my bed writing about my day. It’s been a fruitful one and now it’s time to relax and enjoy some downtime.

Hope everyone else out there is doing something fun and getting some much needed R&R. Until tomorrow!

One thought on “Saturday musings

Leave a Reply

