Oh Maggi, I so do love you!

Maggi, synonymous with 2-minute instant noodles – an unmistakable yellow packet, unequivocally the most present and widely loved “fast food” in Indian households and my own personal favorite! I guess my mom didn’t get the memo on it being a “quick fix” and sadly her way is the only way I like it. Mom decided that if we must consume Maggi, she is going to make sure we get some roughage and protein in too dammit!

The only Maggi I grew up eating and LOVING (and yes, that too is an understatement)  was packed with vegetables and either baby shrimp or shredded chicken. I preferred shrimp. Then I grow up and move out of my parents’ house and in with a roommate and imagine my shock when she says she is going to make Maggi and then shows up with 2 bowls of noodles and packaged seasoning cooked in water. WTF! Where are the veggies? Now, we had no shrimp but damn, no chicken either?? What is this ugly looking concoction you call Maggi?! This, young lady, is not how it’s made! A decade later, I’ve made and consumed this sad version a few times – mostly when sick or just too tired with not a boiled egg to my name! But to this date, when someone says Maggi, my mind sees the steaming pile of veggie laden noodles my mom plated for me…a little soupier for me, a little drier for dad. May I say OINK!

Here’s the recipe. I’ve just made it and I hope someone reads this blog and tries it out. Be sure to post a comment and let me know how you liked it if you do 🙂

2 packs of Maggi (1 pack of seasoning – optional)

2 large diced carrots

15-20 slivered green beans

2-3 medium finely chopped tomatoes

5-6 finely chopped spring onions/shallots (including the green parts)

5-6 cloves of finely chopped garlic

1 inch finely diced ginger

1-2 tsp soy sauce (low sodium preferred)

3-4 tbsp tomato ketchup (adjust as needed)

1/2 cup cooked and shredded chicken OR half cup raw salad shrimp

Turmeric, Red Chili powder, Salt and Sugar per taste

Oil for cooking

Heat oil in a pan and add in the onion part of the spring onions/shallots and saute till transluscent. I also add some regular yellow onion if I feel like it. Add the ginger/garlic mince, saute and add the chopped carrots. Once those soften a bit, add the green beans, saute on medium-high for a couple minutes and add the chopped tomatoes. Cook until the tomatoes soften and the veggies are 3/4 done. While the veggies are cooking, bring water to a boil in a saucepan and cook the noodles only, as per instructions on the package. To the cooked veggie mix, add turmeric, red chili powder, salt, sugar and give it a good stir. Add the soy sauce, give it one final stir and set it aside.

Once the noodles are done (most of the water will have evaporated or absorbed at this point), add the shrimp (if using) and let the heat from the vegetables cook it some. This should be quick given salad shrimp are relatively small. If using cooked chicken, simply add it to the noodles. Then add the veggie mix, the green portion of the spring onions and 1 packet of seasoning (optionally), give it a careful stir so as to not break the noodles or mush the veggies and take it off the heat. Add in the ketchup to achieve desired consistency. Let it settle in and resist all temptation to fork it out of the pan straight into your mouth!

After about 3 minutes (5 is 2 too many!), ladle out the noodle-y goodness into bowls, find a spot on the couch and indulge! Make appropriate sounds to show your appreciation! Yep, definitely true love at first bite!

 

2 thoughts on “Oh Maggi, I so do love you!

Leave a Reply

