Barre vs Bar

Some days are just more trying than others. Today was one such day. Today would warrant a glass of wine or 2 or 4. But as a responsible adult that I like to think I am 🙂 , I owe it to myself, with a little help, to consider other more “productive” outlets for my disappointments.

Sometimes you go through life expecting things to turn out a certain way, almost sure that they will and then BAM! Shit happens. You can deal with it one of two ways – you lament over it at the cost of everything else that is being ignored at it’s expense or you accept the fact, assimilate the learnings and move on. My dad has always said “Everything happens for a reason”. I say “What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.” Combine those two and you’ve now got a potent formula for managing life events. Now if you could only bottle and sell it!

Long story short-ish, I came home today dejected, discouraged and looking for someone to take it out on. Wine glass in hand I let my  2 dogs out. Mind you, they’ve been crated all day. They didn’t care or sulk about being left alone. They were ecstatic to see me, tails wagging, smiling that classic doggie smile, jumping all around and over me. All they cared about was making me happy and therein lies their happiness. They live in the here and now, making the best of what they can get. POINT TAKEN! I shall not mope either. I put the glass away. Thank God I hadn’t poured any wine into it yet! That would’ve been a waste of good wine. 🙂 Instead I pull up my workout app and exactly 3 clicks later I’m signed up for a 6 AM Barre class. Yes yes, that’s still almost 12 hours away but it far supercedes the other option I came home with – Barre over bar and Barre over brawl. Now that’s what I call a no brainer!

Someone sent me a quote not too long ago that said “Your hardest times often lead to the greatest moments in your life. Keep the faith. It will all work out in the end.” Here’s to me keeping my faith while kicking some ass at Barre class!!

 

One thought on “Barre vs Bar

Leave a Reply

